

# MINUTES OF THE ELEVENTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE AUSTRALIAN ALPACA ASSOCIATION LTD (AAA)

Held at the Charles Ledger Show, Moss Vale Showground, Illawarra Hwy, Moss Vale, NSW **16 September 2017** 

Attendees Rochelle Veitch, Dympna Vella, Prue Walduck, Pat Hawkins, Annalisa Tomich, Chris Williams, John Ford, Frances Haslin, Paul Haslin, Debra Trostian, Steve Trostian, Bob Kingwell, Fiona Vaenderbeek, Sharon Dawson, Sue Tiley, Max Matthews, Karen Gaisford, Lionel Tomich, Jennie Menzies, Susan Haese, Emma Timmony, Sean Timmony, Sue Maynard, Julienne Gelber, Roy Menzies, James Wheeler, Ray Vella, Mark Helling, Wendy Billingston, Shane Carey, Ron Condon, Nick de Bruyn, John Harris, Sue Harris, Andrew Hulme, Ian Frith, Karen Caldwell, Steve O'Keefe, Rob Harborne, Tammy O'Keefe, Mick Williams, Karen Williams, Diane Smith, Lyn Dickson, Graeme Dickson, Lyn de Bruyn, Rick Evans, John Dawson, Amber O'Neill, Terry Smith

### Non-Voting Attendees Nil

<u>Apologies</u> Sandy Evans, Frank Gelber, Wayne McCauley, Helen Sorby, Ian Vanderbeek, Chris Bailey, Kate Bailey, Sarah Wheeler, Stephen Rowley, Michelle Malt

The President declared the Annual General Meeting open at 5.05 pm

### 1. Confirmation of 2016 AGM minutes of meeting

**Motion**: The minutes of the 2016 AGM be confirmed.

Moved: Lionel Tomich Seconded: Frances Haslin CARRIED

# 2. Amendment and Confirmation of Special General Meeting on 17 June 2017 minutes of meeting Motion: the minutes be amended by:

- a) Deleting the reference to Non-Voting Attendees Nil (as non voting members were recorded on the attendance sheets)
- b) Removing additional full stops under topic 1
- c) Deleting the words "to his satisfaction" under topic 2 and
- d) Inserting the words "of those voting" after the words "84.6% acceptance" at the end of topic 2.

Moved: John Harris Seconded: Prue Walduck CARRIED

### 3. President's Report

Ian Frith provided the meeting with his President's Report. He started by saying that eAlpaca, the amended Constitution and the updated AAA website were all initiatives of the previous Board that the current Board had been able to finalise.



The President mentioned the following achievements over the past year:

- Re-negotiated the format of the magazine to be available in both printed and electronic form at a significant saving
- eAlpaca introduced resulting in reduced costs for members re animal registrations and transfers
- Website updated it still needs a few touch ups but is much improved
- Showing and judging levy introduced to help with cost of training and updating our judges' skills
- New format for the National Show by combining it with the Victorian Colourbration Show to be known as the Australian Alpaca Spectacular ... which it truly was. A record number of entries both halter and fleece achieving a financial result on the right side of the ledger
- The AAA Constitution was amended with 84.6% of members who voted accepting the changes
- Membership fell for the 2016/17 year, however, expenditure was reduced by approximately \$250,000 and a surplus was recorded, the first since 2013
- The Board assisted five (5) Regions within NSW to amalgamate and become stronger
- Accounting systems were re-vamped so now all are on MYOB
- The Board commenced discussions with AAFL with the object of AAFL or its shareholders purchasing the AAA shareholding in AAFL
- Mrs Lyn Dickson was appointed an Honorary Life Member

The President concluded by noting that the Board truly appreciates the support of the members and encourages all members to submit any ideas that might benefit the industry or its members to the Board.

The President's report was noted as being received.

# 4. Audited Financial Statements, Directors' Report and Auditor's Report of the Company for the year ended 30 June 2017.

The Treasurer, Steve O'Keefe, recorded his thanks to the outgoing Treasurer, Mrs Christine Cronshaw.

Questions from the floor were invited.

**Motion**: That the Audited Financial Statements of the company for the year ended 30 June 2017 be received.

Moved: Karen Caldwell Seconded: Rob Harborn CARRIED

# 5. Election of Directors

The President noted that two nominations had been received for two positions. The President noted that the positions were duly filled by the nominated candidates. The following nominees were declared as AAA Directors:

- a) Steve O'Keefe
- b) Sue Harris



The President thanked the candidates for submitting their nominations.

### 6. Special Resolution to amend the Constitution

Motion: That the Company's Constitution be amended by:

- a) Deleting the words "patriotic or" from sub-clause 2.1(q);
- b) Amending the word "of" to "or" at the end of the third line of subclause 2.1(w) so that the line reads "...directly or indirectly advancing its interest or that of some or all of its Members"; and
- c) Amending sub-clause 10.10(d)(iii) by deleting "pf" in the first line and replacing it with the word "of" so that the sub-clause commences "A minute of the proceedings of the meeting..."

Moved: Nick de Bruyn Seconded: Ian Frith CARRIED

## 7. Remuneration of Auditor

**Motion**: That the remuneration of the Company's auditors for the financial year ending 30 June 2018 be determined by the Board at the next Board meeting held.

Moved: Terry Smith Seconded: John Harris CARRIED

#### 8. General Business

(a) NSW sought an amendment to the Regulations to allow the newly created NSW Region to have a ten member committee

**Motion**: To amend regulation 40 of the Regulations by inserting after the word "nine" the following words: "(except in the case of NSW Region which may have ten on its Regional Committee, being two for each former region now comprising NSW Region.

Moved: Lionel Tomich Seconded: Ian Frith CARRIED

- (b) Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to:
  - (i) Tracey Earl
  - (ii) Ken Wray
  - (iii) Alan Bicknell
- (c) The President thanked the retiring Secretary, Nick de Bruyn for his many services to the Company and the alpaca industry and presented him with a token of appreciation from the Board.

Meeting closed at 5.44pm.

Signed as correct record of meeting.

	112		
Chairperson		 Date	